Walking On Air

As I’ve only recently gained an interest in Dancing With the Stars, it wasn’t until a week ago that I stumbled upon a piece done in 2013 for the show. It’s called “Walking On Air” and it features the choreographer and well known DWTS professional, Derek Hough alongside dancer Jamie Goodwin.

This piece was visually impeccable to me, and after watching it one time, I couldn’t stop. I felt the need to share it will you all, so I’ll put the video right here:

This piece was choreographed on a rotating room, something famously done first by Fred Astaire in the 1951 musical “Royal Wedding”. The song was “You’re All the World to Me”, and was charming, captivating and cool. Fred Astaire, of course being Fred Astaire, executed it rather flawlessly, despite the real difficulty and stamina it requires. This piece made the dance history books, so much so that Derek was asked to recreate it for Dancing With the Stars.

When watching this piece, I was rather blown away. While the dancing and decorations are well-executed, my first thought was the choreography. To have to choreograph something not only to the music, but to the movement of the room you’re in as well is not an ordinary task. It seems I was not the only one to acknowledge this tricky and terrific feat, as Derek received an Emmy for his work on this piece as well as two others.

In choreographing a dance like this, it takes a lot of thinking outside the box, as well as strength and technique. You can’t tell from watching this, but at one point, Derek in holding on to furniture which appears to be on the floor, but is actually on the ceiling. It’s so well done, that even if you try to keep track of the rotation, you’ll eventually become lost in it. That’s why someone was kind enough to place the rotation from the ground and the rotation of the room side by side so we can see how such magic was created. I prefer to watch the original version, because it has a much more magical feel, and is so captivating to watch. If you want to watch the side-by-side video, to understand where exactly the room is click here. If you want to watch the behind the scenes, click here. To read more about times when rotating rooms were used in cinema, click this link which will take you to an interesting article I found online about such moments.

I thought you all might find this as intriguing as I did. I think it’s important to appreciate the talent of others, and find inspiration in their work. I know I was inspired by Derek’s work, hopefully you were too.

(Disclaimer: Don’t try this at home, regular walls won’t rotate, and gravity is not yet able to be defied :D)

– M

Leave a Reply

